Documentation for MapD Core for Developers

Hi,

I am a grad student working on improving MapD Core by adding some interesting spatial functionality. In order to do that, I am first understanding the existing code/code structure of MapD. I have following questions related to the code of MapD Core:

1. Is this the right place for development related questions? Or there’s a mapd-core-dev forum?

2. Are there any documents that detail the architecture of MapD Core or show the way it functions? I have already looked at the MapD Core Guide, but it is more of a user guide. Also, the docs link mentioned on github gives 404 error.

Any help related to “how to better understand MapD Core code?” will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
-Harshada

Hi Harshada, and thanks for joining. I’m excited to learn more about your spatial functionality. Are you looking to add this functionality to the open source Core, or are you building these features separately? Just curious - if you’re looking to contribute to the open source project, let’s make sure we have a GitHub issue for your functionality.

1. This is our one community forum, for now. We’re talking about adding a more traditional dev mailing list or forum, but this is where we’re starting.

2. Thanks for the link 404, we’ll fix that. Let me ping some folks internally to make sure I get you the right URL.

Hi Aaron,

Thanks for the reply.

I am planning to add some essential spatial functionality to MapD such as spatial kNN, spatial join, etc. I will be able to better plan these functionalities once I know the existing code. Also, I would be very happy to release my changes through the open source project :slight_smile: I will contact the team when I have something to release.

Looking forward to the correct docs url.

Thanks,
Harshada